Asia Cup 2023 Final: Mohammed Siraj becomes the first Indian player to take 4 wickets in a single over – Magazine Creations

Indian men’s cricket team pacer Mohammed Siraj took four wickets in one match to shake up Sri Lanka’s batting after a rain-delayed start in the Asia Cup final on Sunday. Siraj also became the first Indian bowler to achieve this feat.

All-rounder Mohammed Siraj took a total of six wickets in the match against Sri Lanka, restricting Dasun Shanaka who led the team to just fifty runs in 15.2 overs.

Sri Lanka were reeling at 12-5 in their five overs in Colombo after opting to bat first in their bid for another title in this 50-over edition of the tournament, a precursor to the upcoming ODI World Cup in India.

Spearhead Jasprit Bumrah struck first with the wicket of Kusal Perera, who was caught behind for a duck in the first over and Siraj quickly wreaked havoc.

Siraj Pathum brought back Nissanka (2), then Sadira Samarawickrama (0) and Sharith Aslanka (0) but a hat-trick was avoided. He then got Dhananjaya de Silva (4) off one ball.

Sri Lanka captain Dasun Shanaka won the toss and elected to bat against India in the Asia Cup final here on Sunday.

Sri Lanka made one change, bringing in Dushan Hemantha in place of Mahesh Thekshana.

For India, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj and Kuldeep Yadav returned to the playing 11 after being rested for one match, while Washington Sundar came in for the injured Axar Patel.

The start of play was delayed by 40 minutes due to rain.

India vs Sri Lanka: Highlights of the first innings

Kusal Mendis was Sri Lanka’s top scorer with 17 runs off 34 balls.

Siraj finished with dream figures of six for 21 in seven overs while Hardik Pandya took three wickets.

Brief scores: Sri Lanka 50 in 15.2 overs (Kusal Mendis 17; Mohammed Siraj 6/21, Hardik Pandya 3/3).


India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj.

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Sadira Samarawickrama, Sharith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Dhunith Willalage, Dushan Hemantha, Pramod Madhushan, Mathisha Pathirana.

Get all the sports news and updates on Live Mint. Download the Mint News app for daily market updates and live business news.

More less

Updated: September 17, 2023, 05:26 PM EST


Sponsored Links Available Discover a world of inspiration at Magazine Creations. Dive into our diverse categories – Business, Guide, Lifestyle, Sports, Technology, Travel, and Trends – and fuel your passion for the latest insights. Uncover the trends shaping industries, lifestyles, and beyond. Explore Magazine Creations and stay ahead of what's next Email us at:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button