IPL 2024 Auction: Akash Ambani’s stylish response to fans chanting ‘Rohit Sharma Ko Wapis Lao’ wins hearts of netizens – Magazine Creations

IPL auctions are all about selecting new players to represent a particular franchise, and the event held in Dubai on December 19 was no exception. All ten teams were stunned $230.45 crore, with 72 players selected. Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins received a combined sum of over $45 crore of the total while several untitled Indians made big splashes.

Mumbai Indians owner Akash Ambani was also in Dubai to participate in the auction. During the commercial break, a Mumbai Indians fan, delivering a message to the Mumbai Indians owner, shouted in a video that Mumbai Indians uploaded to their Lyrics, “Shinta mat karo”. Woh Batting karega (Don’t worry, it will hit), which went viral on social media.

The post received 283.3 thousand views, 2.8 thousand likes, 1.9 thousand comments and 657 retweets.

However, no video of the incident is available and the encounter was confirmed by Mumbai Indians’ official X handle on December 19.

The fans’ reaction stems from Mumbai Indians’ decision to appoint Hardik Pandya as the team’s new captain in place of Rohit Sharma, who has won five titles as captain in the last 11 seasons. Hadik, who made his IPL debut for Mumbai Indians in 2015 after joining them $10 lakh in the 2015 IPL auction, won four IPL titles under Rohit’s captaincy. But in 2022, he joined Gujarat Titans after being not retained by Mumbai Indians. But in 2022, he joined Gujarat Titans after being not retained by Mumbai Indians. According to reports, India’s star all-rounder has returned to the franchise after a deal in which Hardik insisted on captaining the team and MI agreed.

Rohit, who joined MI during the 2011 auction for $9.2 crore After representing Deccan Chargers in the first three editions, he was appointed as captain in the 2013 season after Ricky Ponting left the role due to his poor form with the bat.

Rohit turned the season around by leading Mumbai Indians to their first ever IPL title. He won his second IPL as captain of MI in 2015, third in 2017, fourth in 2019, and fifth in 2020. Under his captaincy, Mumbai Indians played in the second qualifier of IPL 2023 but failed to qualify for the final. Rohit was replaced by Hardik Pandya as captain of Mumbai Indians last week.

Open a world of benefits! From helpful newsletters to real-time inventory tracking, breaking news and a personalized newsfeed – it’s all here, with just one click! Log in now!

Get all the sports news and updates on Live Mint. Download the Mint News app for daily market updates and live business news.

More less

Published: 21 December 2023 07:09 PM IST


Sponsored Links Available Discover a world of inspiration at Magazine Creations. Dive into our diverse categories – Business, Guide, Lifestyle, Sports, Technology, Travel, and Trends – and fuel your passion for the latest insights. Uncover the trends shaping industries, lifestyles, and beyond. Explore Magazine Creations and stay ahead of what's next Email us at:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button