Watch: Angelo Matthews calls Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan ‘disgraceful’ over ‘timeout’ incident – Magazine Creations

Angelo Mathews has questioned the spirit of cricket after becoming the first player in international cricket to be given a ‘time out’. It happened during the World Cup match between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh on November 6 in New Delhi.

Angelo, who was preparing for his first birth, apparently experienced an equipment malfunction when his helmet strap broke. Despite bringing a replacement helmet, more than three minutes had passed, well beyond the two-minute rule for the next ball.

Bangladesh, led by captain Shakib Al Hasan, has appealed to the umpires. Referees Marais Erasmus and Richard Illingworth upheld the appeal, leading to Matthews’ dismissal.

Angelo’s frustration was evident as he left the field, showing his displeasure by throwing his helmet and bat away. Mathews publicly criticized Bangladesh’s sportsmanship and questioned the application of “common sense”.

“I don’t know where the common sense has gone because it’s clearly a disgraceful thing from Shakib and Bangladesh,” Matthews said during a post-match press conference. “If they want to play cricket this way, they have obviously stooped to this level, I think there is something fundamentally wrong.

This incident escalated tensions, as Sri Lanka captain Kusal Mendis and his team engaged in a heated exchange with the Bangladeshi players, later choosing not to participate in the customary post-match handshake.

“You have to respect people who respect us. I mean we are all ambassadors of this beautiful game, including the umpires. So, if you don’t respect it, and if you don’t use common sense,” Mathews said while defending his team’s refusal to shake hands with Bangladeshi cricketers. “What more can you ask for?”

Shakib later said Mathews asked him if he would withdraw the appeal. “I said, ‘You know, I understand your position.’ “It was unfortunate, but I didn’t want that,” Shakib was quoted as saying by the Associated Press.

What about the base?

“After the fall of the wicket or the withdrawal of a batsman, the next batsman must, unless time is called, be ready to receive the ball, or another batsman must be ready to receive the next ball within 3 minutes of dismissal or retirement. If this requirement is not met, The next batter will time out,” Wisden quoted the time-out rule as saying.

It’s important to note that it’s not just about being on the field. The batter must be ready to receive the ball within the time limit.

Sri Lanka said they had video evidence to support their claim that Matthews was at his crease on time, challenging the decision by highlighting that the helmet issue arose during the final seconds of the permitted two-minute interval.

Matthews expressed disbelief at fourth umpire Adrian Holdstock’s statement that the batter was not ready before the belt was broken.

“It’s laughable,” Matthews said.

(with AP input)

Important Alert!Livemint tops the charts as the world’s fastest growing news site 🌏 click here to know more.

Get all the sports news and updates on Live Mint. Download the Mint News app for daily market updates and live business news.

More less

Updated: 07 November 2023, 07:36 AM IST


Sponsored Links Available Discover a world of inspiration at Magazine Creations. Dive into our diverse categories – Business, Guide, Lifestyle, Sports, Technology, Travel, and Trends – and fuel your passion for the latest insights. Uncover the trends shaping industries, lifestyles, and beyond. Explore Magazine Creations and stay ahead of what's next Email us at:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button